Serious Tool Series Kickoff – ClipX!

I’ve decided to start a series of blog posts about tools that I use on a regular basis. So what do I consider a Serious Tool? It’s really any piece of software that makes my lazy life easier – period. Obviously, this list is weighted heavily toward the development category, but it should cover other general areas ranging from browser extensions to full apps.

I’m sure my list will have some crossover with Scott Hanselman’s 2011 Ultimate Developer and Power Users Tool List for Windows and I’m fine with that. This list is what I consider useful to me. Granted I learned about some of the tools from him, but I have my own bloodhound abilities when it comes to finding that right tool for the job.

I was going to start with my most used tools and finish with the lesser tools, but that’s seems a bit unfair. Just because a tool is not used on a regular basis, doesn’t mean it isn’t as useful. It may be the most critical tool for a job that’s not performed on a regular basis.

To kick off the series, I’ll start with a very simple, but most useful tool called ClipX. It’s a small free clipboard manager and does one thing and does it well – it keeps a running list of all clipboard clips. It even shows bitmap previews if you want:

It has a smart feature when you copying multiple items. Copy your first item and then copy your second item both using the standard ctrl+c key combination. Now go to the application you’re pasting to. First press ctrl+v to copy the second item, then press ClipX’s hotkey (Win+z for me) and it automatically selects the first item you copied which is actually the second item in the list. It may sound a little confusing, but just try it. It has a plugin architecture, but I honestly never found the need to use any of the available plugins.

The app hasn’t been updated in years, but it really doesn’t need to be. It does exactly what I want it to do with a really small memory footprint.

This entry was posted in Tools and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Serious Tool Series Kickoff – ClipX!

  1. Pingback: Serious Tool – PureText | Derek's Crib

Leave a Reply

